A December To Remember?

I definitely think so! The Father has been so faithful to me! I pray that I am as faithful to him (though no one can be more faithful than The Father.)

Before I talk about everything that has gone right for me, I must say that without my Heavenly Father, I would not have any of the things that I do. It is by his grace and provision that I even live, much less have the many blessings that I will write about!

I did not finish NaNoWriMo, but have definitely considered both working on the novel I started and trying again next year with new material. Last friday Josh mailed off the request form for my GED transcript, the signed Transfer of Ownership papers for JFW, and a letter to the ACT Registration office requesting my $15 refund for the Writing part since the rest of the test payment is non-refundable.

I went to Tim’s and we spent a wonderful weekend together just relaxing away from the stress of his work and my paper work etc. Here are the awesome highlights, though they by no means encompass the whole weekend.

  • Cooked fries with chicken sandwiches, and watched Miami win a really close football game Friday night. (I lifted Tim up into the air in celebration; he was a bit surprised.
  • Watched A Walk To Remember as well as the end of the NASCAR Awards Ceremony Saturday night.
  • Attended church; met Mr. Meloy; worked with Tim on the IPhone; watched Extreme Home Makeover because Mrs. Meloy called to say they were doing a house for a blind couple.

Then it was bright and early Monday morning and I was getting Tim off to work (have I mentioned just how much I love taking care of that man?) Getting to see him in a suit and tie was definitely a treat. After he left I did some cleaning and just waited for Josh to arrive. Once he did, we went to the property management office to fill out the application…or I thought it was to fill out the application…

We walk in and one of the ladies–we’ll call her ‘L’–handed me the lease and said ‘will he be able to read this to you and help you sign it? If not, I can, but since he is with you…’ Josh said he could though his handwriting ‘sucked.’ We sat down and he read each page and I initialed. We made a little fun at the wording and Josh said I should ‘just call my boyfriend and ask if it was ok for me to sign this crap’ since he had signed the same lease…lol. We goofed and generally had a good time with it. L brought us cake–yes, I really did say that she brought us cake–and we ate that while we finished the signing.

I had a few questions when I was done but for the most part, it went really well. My biggest question was: “I thought I had to fill out an application first?” L apologized and said she’d check; she had been under the impression that I’d already done my application since I’d mailed in a check for the application fee. She came back and had me fill it out, but before I did, I asked her what would happen if I didn’t pass, since I’d already signed the lease, to which she responds without missing a beat: ‘oh, you’ll pass; you’ve got the apartment for sure.’ As she took my ID for copying, I stepped into the office where the two other young ladies were working. They to, said that the apartment had been mine from the very first whenever I called a month ago.

I couldn’t believe it–and here I do have to digress–all month I had been praying and praying and praying: “Father, please, let me get this apartment. Father, please, show me what you would have me do; where you would have me go.” The decision had been made, they said, the day that I’d called and they’d talked to me on the phone because they were pretty good at reading people and they knew that I was someone who wouldn’t cause any trouble. I was very surprised, but I knew: it was the Father working for my good, yet again…as he always does.

We went and took pictures of the apartment, and we got:

This

and this

and this

And...this

Sorry for my blind/VI readers; I know my descriptions weren’t all that good, but uh, well, since I don’t know which picture was of which room, I couldn’t really do much better. sorry again.

Anyway, Josh says he thinks it looks nice and all the furniture in the pictures is stuff she’s going to leave. This means that really I just have to focus on acquiring…somehow…dishes and linens and cleaning/organizing materials etc. No serious furniture problems.

Whenever Tim got home from work, I randomly (ok…maybe not so randomly…) asked Josh if he would take a picture of us together. He did, and…

this is the result...

He looks so handsome doesn’t he?

He only wears stuff like that whenever he’s got to go to court or something really really important is going on…but still. It was the opportunity for a nice picture with him–our first, might I add–so I took it, of course!

He bought Josh’s iPhone. It’s only 16 gigs (mine is 32), but he bought it! I think we’re going to go ship it off today Hopefully, this means he will have it by this weekend.

As I look back, I think on all the things that have happened that I never would have expected…all of the blessings God has given me that I never would have thought possible (at least at the time when they happened…)

When I rededicated my life to Him, I got the opportunity to move for a job…that didn’t work out…

But in taking the opportunity for that job, I got the opportunity to apply at a very good school, as well as to get my own apartment. met a wonderful man who I am irrevocably in love with and unashamedly commited to.

I have gotten to know the members at his church–who all seem to like me very much–and have begun to build good relationships with people who will treat me like I matter to them and who will encourage and support me whenever I need it…and this is all just a broad description of the things that have happened for me.

I thought that getting the chance to apply at Miami was wonderful. At the time, I thought that getting to move here for the job was wonderful. Then, I thought that finding the apartment was a sure sign from God that Oxford was where I was meant to be. I thought getting aproved for the apartment–that the application process not even mattering was a blessing…

But the thing that I have not even mentioned yet–the biggest blessing of December for me, is where I’m going to get to spend Christmas.

I’m going to get to see my two childhood friends Evy and Adriene, who live in Missouri. Evy had said she just really wanted to see me and was willing to spend the money to make that happen. As a result, I’m leaving on the 20th and coming back on the 31st–the day before I move into my new apartment.

I cannot begin to describe the joy that I feel at the chance to spend this holiday with them. Evy I last saw in the summer of 2009, and Adriene I have not seen since we moved back to Texas from Missouri. Adriene now has two beautiful baby girls (which I will be taking lots of pictures of!) and I just feel that I have missed out on so much time with them.

I know that this might not have been as possible if I’d been working. Or if I’d been still in Minneapolis. Or if I’d gotten into school somewhere before now. Or a whole list of possibilities. But my Heavenly Father was watching over me and is the one who has made it all possible.

I give all the thanks to Him. I give all the praise to Him. I am who I am because of Him. I have what I have because He has given it to me.

One other thing that happened last week, that most might find of little note (but which I do not): not only did I not have to pay my electricity deposit up-front, but it was divided up into three paments, to be paid each month in addition to that month’s electric bill. If that isn’t a blessing directly from the Father, I just don’t know what is!

I leave you with three things:

1-This post has reached two thousand four hundred words (or thereabouts!)

2-Jeremiah 29:11-14 in the NIV says:

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.
13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.
14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

This passage was brought up by several different people recently, and having spent some time thinking and praying over these verses, I have come up with this:

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you,

He knows. I may not know and you may not know and then again we may think we know. But regardless of whether or not we know, he does. He has a plan and it is not to harm us. It is to build us up and make us prosper. When you are facing all the bills you know you can’t pay or have a job you just don’t think you can stand…remember that he has a purpose. He may not have revealed it to you yet, but the purpose exists. In asking myself how this applied to me, I began to see that though I was lost for a time, though I had strayed from Him, though I was not “living my life for Him,” he has taken the things that I’d gone through when I was away from him and used them for good. He has put me in a position where I have been able to witness to others who were making the same choices that I was making. Now that I have repented of those sins, he has done all of the things he has done in order to prosper me.

12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.

When we call on him, when we pray to him, he will hear us. In applying this to my own life, I saw how, whenever I reached out for him, whenever I repented and asked for his forgiveness and his guidance, he gave those things–in abundance!

13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

You must be seeking him earnestly and with all of your heart before you can find him. You cannot make deals with God. You cannt negotiate with him. If you want his love and forgiveness and his guidance, you will have to seek him with all of your heart. Not just the part that isn’t taken up by wanting other things. Your whole heart should be wanting him. There should be no other thing that matters more to you. Me: even if I had wanted him at times, even if I had occasionally reached for him, until this summer, I had not done it with all of my heart. Before this summer, things just kept going wrong for me. I couldn’t get into a stable relationship, I couldn’t find a stable place to live, I couldn’t find a stable job…I just couldn’t find stability, period. But all of a sudden, when I gave my whole self to him, whenever I decided that nothing mattered more to me than living my life for Him, things began to fall into place. I’ve applied for a good school, been approved (without filling out an application!) for an apartment that I can aford all on my own, met a wonderful man who loves me and appreciates me for who I am and all just because I offered all of myself to God!

14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity. I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

I know that he was speaking to a people and not just to one person, but to apply it to myself, I think of how I was away from him; doing my own thing with my own plan with no regard to his plan or to how he wanted me to live. That was me. In exile. Away from his love and his care and his guidance and his protection. Lost. Alone. Struggling. Without him.

But he says that he will be found by me (when I seek him with all of my heart) and _THEN! he will bring me back from captivity! And I must tell you: he has done just that! I was held captive by what I thought I wanted for my life! I was held captive by what I thought would make me happy! But there is no greater joy, no greater peace, no bigger blessing than to know that the Lord loves you and that he will shelter and provide for you!

3(did you forget that there was a three? That’s ok, I almost did, to!)-A parody of “I Love The Way You Lie” by Rihannah and Eminem written for Mike Brown (Bengals team owner):

Thought it was kind of funny; Tim was the one who found it first (because it was posted by someone he follows on twitter). We listened to it together and we thought it was funny, so I said I’d post it on my blog.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A December To Remember?

  1. Adriene

    (**Teers!**) You had me crying because that was so meaningful, so heartfelt, so beautiful. This, and other things means so much to me because from the moment you told me you rededicated yourself to the kingdom, it’s been nothing, but great things for you. And the best part is, I am able to witness this wonderful journey.
    I am so honored to be one of your best friends, I don’t think words can express my feelings. I love you so much and I know that you already know this, but I just can’t help, but tell you that every single moment that I can.
    I know you will always remember the verse, “seek ye first the kingdom of God, and all shal be added unto you.” And, my favorite, or one of the many verses that I love, “all things work together for good, for those who love the Lord.” The father is so awesome! And I can not thank him enough for allowing me to be apart of your life.
    Though, we’ve had some parts of our lives where we’ve lost touch, I have to say that I’m so exstatic to have been able to stay in contact with you.
    And, that has been nothing, but God.
    So, keep praying, andkeep doing his work as he asks us to, and things will be even greater foryou.
    The best is yet to come. Love you sis.

Add to the conversation…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

