Mumble jumble-Three Months in less than twelve hundred words…

Forever…3 months…I know. Don’t talk to me about it, mk?

The highlights–both because I’m not patient enough to write every single thing that’s happened in three months and because It’d be wayyy too long:

  • Began volunteering for a non-profit organization in Hamilton called The Center For Family Solutions, which focuses on children and families who have experienced or been affected by domestic violence and/or child abuse.
  • Attended a Women of Faith conference.
  • Two weeks later, attended The Walk to Immaus.
  • Sang with the praise team at Spirit Fest.
  • Had my technology evaluation (finally!)

At Spirit Fest, I fell off the edge of a wall and bruised my foot. I stayed off of it for a week, only moving around to do what I absolutely had to do, but it is still a little sore.

Friday, I went to the store to get peroxide because Tim had a nosebleed, and I swear, it was like Amber’s Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day or something…because first I got lost, walking around for like an hour in the sun with no water and no idea where I was and no alternative but to keep looking for landmarks. When I finally figured out where I was, I found a restaurant called Patterson’s and went in, because I figured if I didn’t sit down soon and find some water, I’d fall down and pass out for lack of it instead. Then I thought I should eat, so I did have a lunch and then went to the store. Whenever I got to the store, they didn’t even have peroxide if you can believe that!

The other thing I’d been going for was spaghetti sauce because I believed we were out and we had wanted to have spaghetti. I got that and when I got home, I discovered…or rather Tim had discovered…that we did, in fact, have spaghetti sauce!

For Tim’s birthday, I made a huge breakfast and then baked a cake in the afternoon and we went to the Birchfields’ for dinner. Spenser grilled–which is always nice–and after we had cake with coffee. Tim had to blow out the candles after we sang and it was a very nice evening, actually, because it was raining, so the temp was good and the mist blowing in through the screen around the porch felt refreshing.

Yesterday I went into Hamilton for my bible study which is always a blessing and had the privellege of attending praise team practice in the evening. This Sunday I will sing which I always enjoy.

I know I have not really talked much about anything in this post but at least you know the basics of what has been going on. Hopefully (though you shouldn’t hold your breath for it) I’ll be able to keep you up-to-date from now on.

A couple more really important things, and then I’ll get off your screen–I promise.

First, this week has been very difficult for the Meloys. Abbie (Tim’s sister) and her husband took their two children to West Virginia to attend a family member’s funeral. While there, Scott (Abbie’s husband) got into a very serious car accident. In the car with him was his mother, his brother and his brother’s son, Braden. Scott, his brother and his mother all made it through, but Braden died. I am keeping that whole family in my prayers and ask that you do the same.

Several members at our church have been having very difficult situations in their families-some deaths and some very severe illness. Knowing this, I am keeping all of them in my prayers (and asking that you do the same) as well.

For Tim’s birthday, a get-together was planned for this sunday after church, at which point I would have gotten to meet his family and finally begin building a relationship with each of them. Because of the tragic situation in West Virginia, that get-together is obviously not taking place. I’m sad that it’s not, but I also know that there are more pressing things right now. sometimes I feel that there’s some invisible force pushing against me meeting his family, because it seems that every time we plan for me to meet them, something goes wrong. Someone gets hurt or something changes at the last minute. I hate seeing people get hurt and hate to think that it’s because we’re planning for me to go there…and even though it doesn’t make any sense; even though it’s irrational…it is how I’m starting to feel, because it seems to happen every single time.

I’ve been watching and reading a lot about the Casey Anthony trial. I personally believe that she did it, but also know that no one but God can know anything with absolute certainty, and even if she did, that we are called to love others and offer forgiveness. I am struggling a lot with this, because I just can’t understand how any mother could let something happen to her daughter…could choose to keep a “accident” (if an accident is really what happened) a secret. Wouldn’t you want to bury her properly? Let others who loved her say goodbye? How could you, for a month, keep a secret so enormous? Your child is dead (or missing) and you are ok with the fact that you haven’t talked to her for that long? I’m just…unable to wrap my head around it.

Ok, anyway, enough of that, because I didn’t want to end on a sombre note…I’m feeling led to start a prayer group or become a part of one or something. Prayer is the most important tool availible to me–the one thing that God says we can use to our advantage in any situation–and I want to make something out of that. In my personal reflection time this week, these are some of the verses that spoke loudly to me:

Psalms 119:114 You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your word.

Psalms 119:165 Great peace have those who love your law, and nothing can make them stumble.

Psalms 130:3-4 If you, LORD, kept a record of sins, Lord, who could stand? But with you there is forgiveness, so that we can, with reverence, serve you.

If He kept a record of wrongs…

I just can’t imagine where I’d be or how I’d be able to pray to Him every day. How I could seek Him in any situation.

Ok…maybe more soon. For now, this is all.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Add to the conversation…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

