Surprisingly Satisfied

If you’ve seen the movie Courageous and were moved by it at all, you should read the book

_The _Resolution _For _(Women or Men, depending on your gender)

I have not seen Courageous but I know that it is a good movie and anyway, the Resolution For Women is written by Priscilla Shire, so that stopped my decision-making right there.

This morning, I have read the first small Section inside the larger sections inside the first part.

Yeah… ok… confusing?

Part One is called:

Who I Am

The first section inside this part is called:

Surprisingly Satisfied: A Resolution to be Content

Underneath this section is a series of small devotionals or stories with a point behind them that you can use to understand each of the important points being made in this book.

I have thought I would divide them up by doing one each day, and hope that I can actually implament that point into my day.

Today’s story is entitled: “Every Bite Counts” and the verses are these:

  • “True godliness with contentment is itself great wealth.” – (1 Tim. 6:6 NLT)
  • “If we have food and clothing, with these we shall be content (satisfied).” – (1 Tim. 6:8 AMP)
  • “Make sure that your character is free from the love of money, being content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you.”” – (Heb. 13:5 NASB)
  • What have you been hurrying through?

    I think that for me, this question is so…BIG! On a quick, first to my mind, no “searching” straight-from-my-heart answer: life. All of it. School-I can’t wait to be done so I can get a job. My relationship-I can’t wait to get married so that we can start our life together (and it’s especially hard whenever I see friends getting married and I know they’re going to have that finally.) Activities-Though i want to be involved in things, I rush through them so that I can get on to the next thing (though when I’m done, I really haven’t any clue what I’ve just done.) Etc etc etc. Life. I’m just in a hurry period. That’s so sad.

  • What have you been rushing to get to?

    I think this ties into the last question and has some of the same answers, though I know that it is a different question. I am rushing to settle down and be married; I am rushing to get to my career; I’m rushing to get to the answers to all of my questions about life. Just rushing rushing rushing.

  • What are some of the good parts of your experience that you’ve missed in your attempt to rush through the more difficult ones?

    If I take school as just one example: I have rushed through the possibility of making more friends than I currently have made and the opportunity to really learn and enjoy the material I’ve been studying so that I might know something about the subjects I’m studying. I memorize the material needed for tests and I’m done. That’s all that matters; the grade. The experience has not mattered; it’s been something to do to get to my main goal–my career–and even that has stopped mattering since I’ve got stuck on the thought that maybe I’m not made for a career; maybe I’m made to be a wife and mother, which of course, would not be a bad thing, if that were God’s plan for me.

  • What can you do differently today to “scrape the plate”–to gather up all the good things around you and begin enjoying the journey of your life?

    I can stop rushing through classes as though they are exams to pass and nothing more. i can stop rushing past people in the hall and politely murmuring ‘excuse me’ as I rush past. I can invite friends to dinner–even if it’s not to my house; anywhere on-campus or uptown would do. I can stop making it about me.

This is just the first devotional and I already know that this is going to radically change my life, and if I seem like a radical woman, I suppose that’s because this is meant to be a radical movement. In case you are curious and want to know more, I will share the foreword:

After a year of prayer, God birthed the vision for the movie Courageous as well as the Resolutions for both men and women. We began to ask what would happen if the men and women of this generation fully resolved and committed themselves to live for what matters most. What if we let go of the baggage of our past, clarified our convictions, and then pursued faithfulness to God, our marriages, and children for the rest of our lives? Many great men and women in Scripture and in recent history have defined and then lived by their own personal resolution. Now it’s our turn!

As we began developing the Resolution for Men, we also prayed for God’s direction concerning who should write the Resolution for Women. He clearly led us to Priscilla Shirer, whose unique calling, grasp of Scripture, and testimony are a picture of multigenerational faithfulness. Priscilla dove into this project with prayerful passion and the understanding that God is calling all women to a new season. Women who reflect their full purpose and potential. Women who embrace life with joy and fulfillment and are known for being faithful in each area of their lives. Women who understand that this involves discipline and self-sacrifice, but that it can happen as they allow the Word of God to nurture them and the Spirit of God to take control of them and have His way.

This Resolution for Women will both stir and challenge you. It will speak to the best part of you who are. It will remind you of your priceless value and the wonderful, God-honoring reasons why you were created. Then it will push you to embrace your current season of life by defining what matters to you most in the midst of it. This book will encourage, inspire, and even provoke and irritate you. But at every place, it will lead you to devote yourself to making and keeping commitments that will bring you all the blessings and joys of a life in pursuit of God’s best.

As you read, you will find yourself analyzing the choices you make and the perspectives you hold. You will begin refining your worldview and slowly reshaping much of what you believe about your various roles in life. And that’s exactly what we hope you do. We believe this book could transform your life, your marriage, your children, and your friendships. Why? Because it’s based on biblical truth. And His Word is living and powerful and never returns void. It’s true that you can’t do this in your own strength. Be freed to admit that up front. But everyone wants to believe there is a better person inside themselves. And with the Lord’s guidance and involvement, this is not only possible but is realistic and obtainable! He has already promised to complete the gracious work He has started in you (Philippians 1:6). As Priscilla shares her personal stories, you may find yourself laughing with her, crying with her, and nodding your head in every chapter. you will also cringe a few times as the Lord uses the truth in this book to mold your own character and spiritual maturity. But don’t be afraid to let that happen. It’s part of becoming the Godly woman of grace He wants you to be! And She is amazing! So find the place in your home or your day where you enjoy reading the most. Open up your heart, your mind, and even your journal, then ask the Holy Spirit to help you fully interweave God’s principles into your daily life! We recommend praying through each chapter, asking God to speak through the Scripture passages and testimonies written in this book. Then watch what He does to the person you know as you. There just might be some changes on the horizon–good ones whose time is now. And it will all be for His glory!

Fasten your seat belt! God’s about to go to work! May the Lord bless you as you begin.

Alex Kendrick

Stephen Kendrick

I believe that something that Priscilla says in her introduction to the book is so true, and when I read it, it made me sit up straight and re-think every single action I perform–whether alone or in the company of others–and that surprised me, because though i know what I choose to do, I had never thought of it in this way before. Funny how one little phrase can change your whole way of thinking, and I guess, reading this particular phrase is how I knew that this book was going to change me, make me a radical woman. She said,

For even though I may have an adverse initial reaction to the term, I do have an appreciation for resolutions.

In fact, I make them every single day. So do you.

Right now–whether you realize it or not–you’re choosing to treat people a certain way, to stay committed to certain activities, to live a certain life, to be a certain kind of person, to not be a certain kind of person. Either way, you’ve made a decision. A spoken (or unspoken) declaration. A defining banner hangs over your life, written in the ink of your own choices.

Others can read it, even if you can’t.

You’re already a woman of resolutions. They’re making you who you are. They’re determining the life you’ll end up living, the tomorrow you’ll end up shaping.

So since making resolutions is something we all do anyway, the question for us to grapple with is not whether we’ll ever dare to make any more of them but whether we’re going to be intentional about the ones we do make. We need to make sure the banner that flies over our lives and announces to the world who we genuinely are is the one that says what we want it to say, one that changes things in us and around us for the better.

-Priscilla Shirer

A banner that hangs over my life? Everyone can read it even if I can’t?

That really did make me pause. Sure, friends know when I do things. Friends know what choices I make because they either see those choices or the results of them and I guess I knew that this would help them form an opinion of me, but I guess I never really truly contemplated the full implications of such a thing.

Not just friends. Family. Strangers. Teachers. Fellow students. Church members.

Each of them may only see a tiny portion of that banner, depending on how much time they spend with me, but what does the portion they can read say?

if I could ask everyone who has ever met me, everyone who has ever (however briefly) encountered me, what their initial impression was, what they saw in me or about me, what would they say?

Would it be what I wanted them to see?

I want to be a woman who lives for God and shows that in all that she says and does. I want to be an encouraging, loving, positive, accepting, understanding person.

But what does this look like for me? What does this look like inside me?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Add to the conversation…

Blog at WordPress.com.

