Can You See Me?

Basically, what she says here. Sorry, she writes too well for me to add anything. I would just mess it up if I did!

Where's Your Dog?

A few years ago, I performed an informal little social experiment while in the grocery store: I began by walking just behind the cart (I was pushing, my sighted companion steering) with my cane out and plainly visible. After a few minutes, I folded the cane and put it in the cart so that it was out of sight. I have “normal” eyes, so I don’t look conspicuously blind; if the cane isn’t easy to see, people don’t always realize right away that I have any sort of disability at all. Since I was just pushing the cart, the blindness really wasn’t obvious. You may well ask what the point of such an experiment could be. Here is what I discovered: while my blindness was on display, as it were, I got pitying, fascinated, or outright terrified looks. Mothers instinctively pulled their children from my path, even when they were…

View original post 760 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Add to the conversation…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

